Sakaja Quits Nairobi’s Governor Race

The fight for Nairobi Gubernatorial seat in President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee Party has taken another wind after named MP Johnson Sakaja quit the governorship race for that of the Senate.

The official exhibited his papers at the Jubilee Party central command in Pangani, Nairobi on Wednesday evening joined by six Nairobi MPs, including Woman Rep Rachel Shebesh, and Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria.


Mr Sakaja was a piece of the “Group Nairobi” made out of Nairobi Senator Mike Sonko, Dagoretti South MP Dennis Waweru, and previous Starehe MP Margaret Wanjiru who all need to be representative.

“I conceded my offer for senator to join the Jubilee group in Nairobi. I don’t have a top pick (applicant) for representative and I will bolster whoever wins the ticket,” Mr Sakaja told the Nation.

The MP’s turn came only a day after 2013 presidential hopeful Peter Kenneth introduced his assignment papers and pledged a wounding fight with his rivals in the selections.

Written by Eugene Cardus


Shut Down : Nakumatt Closes Branch In CBD

12 Shillings More : UBER Increases Fare Prices after Drivers Protest